More of the same?

2012-08-30

Google+ – Incoming not merely hidden, but completely removed?

Filed under: FAIL, Miscellaneous, Mobile, Software — _ds_ @ 22:58
Android G+ screenshots showing nothing found

Screenshots from the last Android Google+ app to support Incoming, showing “no posts found” (but there should be content). Taken on 2012-08-31.

Seems that Google+ have decided to cut off all but Nearby for those of us who still have the last version (on Android) to support Incoming.

This is Bad and Wrong.

Now I can’t easily and conveniently dip in and see what people who’ve circled me (but I’ve not circled back) are posting. There was a suggestion of looking at each individual profile to see what’s posted, but that’s repetitive, time-consuming and error-prone.

I might have decided to see what’s being shared for a while after being circled (i.e. not just what’s public) before deciding what to do. Incoming allowed this in a convenient way.

Well done, Google+, for removing useful stuff

I am now forced to downgrade to a newer version of the Android G+ app if I want something which works.

(Also, scrapbook pictures. Yes, I use them. No, I will not choose to use cover images instead. Yes, I want to use them on one of my pages, but somehow that got downgraded to cover image and I can’t revert that – THAT IS JUST PLAIN BROKEN.)

(You may pretend that the above text is liberally padded with expletives. That would be a lot closer to what I’m thinking.)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

